Pennsylvania Archaeological Council

Home     Officers and Members     Meetings     Consulting Party     Public Education     Newsletter Archive     Report Archive     Links

    PAC is now on Facebook   

Society for Pennsylvania Archaeology
88th Annual Meeting
April 7-9, 2017

Hosted by The State Museum of Pennsylvania, Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission

Radisson Hotel Harrisburg
1150 Camp Hill Bypass
Camp Hill, PA 17011

Room Rate is $93 single, $103 double plus tax (free parking) guaranteed until March 7, 2017.
Guests should call the hotel directly for reservations at 717-763-7117

48 hour cancellation notice required or there will be a “no-show” fee equal to one night’s room charge

Patterning the Past: Current Contributions to Pennsylvania Archaeology
For meeting details, program, registration, and more, click here to visit SPA web site

Friday Afternoon PAC symposium:
Public outreach- Preserving the Past with New Technology
Bernard Means, organizer

People attending only the PAC meeting and symposium need not register for the SPA meeting.
Please take this opportunity to update your PAC membership

Once again the Society for Pennsylvania Archaeology and the Pennsylvania Archaeological Council will jointly award scholarships for students to attend the annual SPA/PAC meeting, April 7-9, in Harrisburg, PA. We expect to award six scholarships of $100 apiece to students (in or out of Pennsylvania) with an interest in Pennsylvania archaeology who will be attending the meeting. Preference is given to students who are presenting papers or posters on their work. Application is by letter or e-mail to me by March 31, 2017. See attached announcement. Please post and encourage your students to consider attending and presenting a paper or poster.

2016 Election

The PAC 2016 Nominating and Elections Committee respectfully submit to the membership the results of the 2016 election announced at the Fall Business Meeting, October 28, 2016:  

Beverly Chiarulli re-elected President
Michael Stanilla elected Vice President
Lisa Dugas re-elected Secretary/Treasurer
Jonathon Burns and Gary Coppock elected At-large Members of the Executive Board           

These officers will assume their duties at the close of the Spring 2017 PAC business meeting and serve until the close of the Spring 2019 business meeting. 

The Committee congratulates the elected officers and thanks all the members who participated as candidates and/or voted in the 2016 election. 

2016 Committee Members: Rick Geidel, Phil Neusius, and Cathy Spohn